A child grows and develops quickly in their first five years across the four essential areas of development. The four main areas are motor, language, communication, cognitive, and social/emotional.

Cognitive development is how a child thinks, discovers, and tries to figure a new thing. It is a development of knowledge and skills, trying to solve problems and temper, which will help the baby to think about and understand the world around them.

There is a part which is in cognitive development, which is brain development.

You being a parent, it is essential to teach your child about cognitive development as soon as he/she is born. It gives the basics of your child’s success when he starts school and later in life.

For Instance, a study shows a child who does compare the sounds when he or she is for six months. They start gaining their knowledge by learning to read when they are four and five years of age.

To encourage your child’s cognitive development, it is essential that you support them on an everyday basis: which includes:

  • You will have to talk with your baby and try naming commonly used objects. Let your child discover new toys and see around. 
  • You should sing and read to your baby.
  • Your child should find new books and puzzles so that they could develop their skills.
  • Try to improve your child’s interest in a specific learning activity. For example, your toddler will show a keen interest, such as dinosaurs, to take him/her on a beautiful drive to see different ways to solve problems. You may want to give some excellent advice and encourage your child. 

What are Jean Piaget’s theories in Cognitive development?

Jean Piaget is a famous and influential experience theory of cognitive development as a French psychologist from 1896-1980. Jean Piaget’s first theory was published in the year 1952. It blew out as an observation of children, her children, for the environment as opposed to the experiments in laboratory experiments for the behaviors. 

Hence, Jean Piaget was also interested in children’s reactions to their surroundings, as she has said that an active role for them is much better by learning the theories. 

Right in the middle of Piaget’s theory is the cognitive development principle that comes in a series of four main things. This full stage is categorized in a complicated way. Here are the four steps in the same order built on what was studied during the previous phase. Here are the follows:

Sensor motor Stage

Sensory-motor stage happens during 18-24 months old of a baby. The features included are motor activity by not using any symbols. Everything is learned from experience or practice and mistakes. The main thing is to understand this stage when a child is trying to understand the object- in other words, it is an object which is still alive if it is invisible or even hidden somewhere.

Pre-operational Stage

This stage can be seen when a child is 2 to 7 years. The child’s memory and the creative powers are now forming. Children at this age become very egocentric, which means that they will find it difficult to think out of their memory box. 

          One of the main goals of this stage is being able to know the objects with the language by thinking about that thing symbolically. 

Concrete Operational Stage

During this stage, the child will be less egocentric in the concrete operational stage. These will happen when the child is 7 to 11 years old, and it is said that they will be logical and methodical of identifying symbols.

One of the essential things to understand is that the child should begin working jobs outside their mind. This is what you call operational thought, and it does allow the child to solve problems without anything going wrong

Formal Operational

This happens when a child is 11 years old and older, forming into the Piaget formal operational stage. A milestone stage is done by using symbols to understand the difficult concepts. It is not only that, the elder kids and adults ill also think about a different thing and come out with some ideas which are about past skills. 

Piaget believes that people who are in all types of ages are developed very intelligently. Hence, she also thought that a person who will reach the formal operational stage is now trying to build more knowledge; it will not be changed how it is done or understood. 

What is the importance of Early Childhood in Cognitive development? 

Early childhood means that from birth through five years. During this early childhood, a baby’s cognitive development has step-by-step skills such as pre-reading, language, vocabulary, and numbers, starting from the moment when the baby is born. The scientist has found that the brain has a lot of information about language during their first year of life even when your child starts talking.

When your child utters or tries to understand their first word, they will know which sounds their language is using, the sounds that can be together to form words, and their rhythm of words and sentences.

There is a powerful bonding between the child, which is going through the early stage during this life, the level of achieving that your baby will experience later in life.

For Instance: a child who is better at building blocks of speech when they are six months which is much better rather than difficult language skills when they come to two to three years old, and it is better to start gaining skills or learning to read when your child will be four to five years


Jean Piaget has helped many people understand how skills are developed in the early part of childhood, during birth. It is not too late to make your child understand.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *